Dappled Cities Fly

I’ve always had a thing for Australian music and I think it’s a proven fact that bands from Australia are always more happy than American bands (at least their press photos would suggest this). Dappled Cities Fly are the latest entry into the Aussies-that-I-think-are-destined-to-take-the-States-by-storm category. They already have some opening dates with Modest Mouse under their belt and they just finished up a run of shows at SXSW.

I received their album last week and it has barely left my CD player since (side note: my iPod player broke so I’m back to using CD’s). Their new album is entitled Granddance and it’s incredible. The album is as uninhibitedly enthusiastic as it is uplifting. Throughout the album, the band makes great use of falsettoed vocals mixed with a unique mixture of guitars and energetic drumming (set to some of most addicting melodies you’ll hear this year). It’s hard to pick favorites, but the quirky first track, Holy Chord, I think is the best intro to the band. The song starts off showcasing some of Tim Derricourt’s amazing lead vocals and midway becomes a bouncy indie pop anthem. The title track is another one that features the lively, jangle pop that the band does so well, in addition to a killer slide guitar solo. Don’t pass this one up.

MP3 Holy Chord
MP3 Granddance

Bonus MP3 Fire Fire Fire (DFA Mix)

Myspace
Dangerbird Records Site

One thought on “Dappled Cities Fly

  1. I live in Sydney and DCF are clearly my fav Aussie band. I have seen them live about 10 times and they are always great. Full of energy and spirit and very nice guys as well. Also their first record, A Smile, is very good too.

Leave a comment