For The Weekend: Daft Punk Alive 2007

This is a pretty obvious one, but someone was nice enough to send this album my way and I think it definitely deserves a mention on this site. Pitchfork said it best when it called this album the “Ultimate Daft Punk Mixtape”. For those new to Daft Punk, other than seeing their live show in person, this is probably the best introduction to their music. I didn’t grow up listening to French electronica geniuses (or really any dance music at all) and their spectacular comeback this year was my first real introduction to the band.

After spinning Alive 2007 a couple times though, I think it’s the equivalent of Night Ripper from last year. You put this album on and you have a party. The music segues perfectly making the album a nonstop jam. The “Aerodynamic” mix of “One More Time” is a huge highlight for me as is the mashup of “Around the World” and “Harder Better Faster Stronger”. The live versions completely retools these very familiar songs into something new and exciting. The final dance explosion of “Superheroes”, “Human After All”, and “Rock and Roll” climaxes the set perfectly. If you love Daft Punk you probably already have this album and might have even seen the tour (which makes me completely jealous). If you’re not as familiar though, this as a worthy introduction to the Robot/Human identity-searching duo.

MP3 One More Time/Aerodynamic (Alive 2007)
MP3 Around The World / Harder Bester Faster Stronger (Alive 2007)

Also if you haven’t yet seen the Daft Punk “hands” video you need to do so immediately. It would have definitely made my music videos list of 2007 if it were an official release.

One thought on “For The Weekend: Daft Punk Alive 2007

  1. Your site Cool 🙂
    I am very pleased with the service. Thank you for the extra 4 samples. When dealing with people so far away, and through the internet, I sometimes wonder if I will even receive anything for my money. I would not hesitate to use your services again or to recommend you to friends. Again, Thank You.

Leave a comment