Newsflashes: Cotton Jones, Album Art, Animal Collective

These are the things I’ve found awesome in the first week of 2009:

Cotton Jones

I’ve been a fan of Page France since the first second I heard them but I was a bit wary when Michael Nau dropped his old moniker and started moonlighting as this Cotton Jones character.  Looks like my suspicions were unfounded because the band’s debut, Paranoid Cocoon, is wonderful.

Nau jumps through genres seemlessly going from acoustic indie pop to to warm alt-country and to bluesy gospel-folk. All the time, Nau’s slow draw is complemented by Whitney McGraw’s lovely voice.  It all makes for a perfect lazy day type of album, retro-pop at it’s finest.

MP3 Blood Red Sentimental Blues
MP3 Some Strange Rain

2009 Album Art

Not too many albums have leaked yet this year but a lot of sweet albums covers have been popping up.  Here’s some of my favorites:


Here’s a totally great song from Dan Deacon’s upcoming (it’s the cover that looks like In Ear Park with a tent):

MP3 Dan Deacon – Getting Older

My iPhone

I bought myself an iPhone this year (one of those $99 refurbished ones) and I’m seriously very addicted to it.  There are so many things that I didn’t even know that I needed on the iPhone.  It’s just a brilliant gadget.  For those who’ve had their iPhones a while, what apps to I need?  Got the basics (Facebook, Shazam, Remote, Flixster, Tap Tap, Urbanspoon) but I could always use more.

MP3 Daft Punk – Digital Love

Brother Sport

Best song of the year so far.  Been listening to this non-stop. Open up your, open up your, open your throat.  Other people seem to like it also.

MP3 Animal Collective – Brother Sport

12 thoughts on “Newsflashes: Cotton Jones, Album Art, Animal Collective

  1. I think in the album artwork section you should put Antony and the Johnsons. The artwork is strange but it’s my favorite so far.

  2. The new AC is disgustingly good! Brother Sport is fan-freaking-tastic. In The Flowers and My Girls has been on repeat for me. Makes me ashamed of half the stuff in my library.

  3. I dont have an iphone, but one reason (of many) that i so totally want one is that pandora application. I don’t know if you’ve heard of Pandora but I absolutely love it and would really love if I could listen to it anywhere. If you’ve never tried it : Pandora.com .

  4. Pandora is good, and if you dig crosswords check out 2across. You can download daily puzzles from a bunch of papers for free.

Leave a comment